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NEVADA STATE BOARD

New Law , For Prescribing
Controlled w - : Substances
In The State N———— Of Nevada

The state of Nevada has implemented new laws that affect certain practitioners, to include,
dentists. If you are a dentist who holds a permit issued by the Nevada State Board of Pharmacy
to prescribe controlled substances (“CS”) this law affects you.

On January 1, 2018, AB 474 went into effect. This law requires a dentist to adhere to certain
requirements before prescribing controlled substances to their patients for the treatment of
pain. First, before a dentist writes an initial prescription, the dentist must evaluate for the
following:
Whether the CS, if previously prescribed, is working as intended and as expected to
treat the patient’s symptoms
Whether there is reason to believe that the patient is not using the CS as prescribed or
is diverting for the use by another person
Whether the patient’s PMP report indicates that the patient issuing the CS inappropri-
ately or is using other CS not prescribed and unbeknownst to the practitioner
Whether the patient has a history of substance abuse and whether there is reason to
believe that the patient is currently misusing or is addicted to the CS
Whether there is reason to believe that the patient is using other drugs (including alco-
hol or illicit)
The number of early refill attempts or number of times the patient claimed that the CS
is lost or stolen
Whether blood or urine tests indicate inappropriate use of the CS or the presence of
unauthorized CS in patient’s system
Any major change in the patient’s health that would affect the medical appropriateness
of the CS

Before writing an initial prescription for a controlled substance, each dentist must;

Have a bona fide relationship with the patient
Establish a preliminary diagnosis and treatment plan
Perform a patient risk assessment. The patient risk assessment includes, obtaining and
reviewing the patient’s medical/dental history and conduct a physical examination of
the patient and assess their mental health, their risk of abuse, dependency and addic-
tion.
Obtain and personally review the patient’s PMP report
Discuss non-opioid treatment options with the patient
If the practitioner decides to write an initial prescription

(a) It must be for no more than a 14 day supply if treating acute pain

(b) It must not be for >90MME daily for an opiate naive patient; and

(c) An Informed Consent must be completed by the patient (Cant. orpage 3)
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KNOW YOUR DUE PROCESS RIGHTS

The Board has become aware that some or all of its Licensees have been the recipients of a recent email inquiry from
an attorney in Las Vegas. This inquiry alluded to a possible class action law suit seeking to call into question the stipula-
tion agreements that various licensees have entered into with the Board over the past 15 years. At this time, the Board
does not have any evidence that such a lawsuit has been filed. Subsequent emails from this attorney referenced pur-
ported allegations of due process violations, as well as a 2016 Legislative Audit of the Board. In response, the Board has
received many questions concerning the impetus for these allegations. We hope that the following information will
help to answer some of your questions.

In 2015, various complaints were submitted to the Office of the Attorney General (OAG) for the State of Nevada. These
complaints were submitted by Nevada licensed dentists and a hygienist who had signed stipulated agreements to re-
solve complaints initiated by patients. All of the licensees were represented by counsel and signed the stipulations only
after consultation with and advice from their attorneys. The complaints to the OAG made numerous allegations
against the Board and its agents related to the stipulated resolutions of the complaints, including alleged civil extortion,
duress, abuse of power, violation of due process and fraud. Following review of the licensees’ complaints and the cir-
cumstances underlying the stipulations, the OAG determined that the allegations against the Board were unfounded.
You may access the full response of the OAG on the Board’s website, at http://dental.nv.gov/Home/Features/

Allegations of Due Process Violations/

In addition, the Board was the subject of a legislative audit in 2016. You can read the full audit report, the Board'’s re-
sponse, various corrective actions that were undertaken by the Board, as well as a recent letter from the Legislative
Counsel Bureau which advises that all recommendations contained in the audit report have been fully implemented by
the Board. These documents can also be found at http://dental.nv.gov/Home/Features/

Allegations of Due Process Violations/

Finally, Licensees are encouraged to review the document entitled “Understanding the NSBDE Investigation and Disci-
plinary Process.” This document will provide an overview of the process and procedure that is undertaken for every
complaint submitted by a member of the public and for every investigation authorized by the Board. A Flow Chart is
also available which illustrates this process in a more concise format. These documents may be accessed at http://

dental.nv.gov/Home/Features/Complaint Resources/
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(continued from page 1)
A dentist must obtain informed written consent after discussing the following with the patient:

The potential risks and benefits of using the CS

The proper use, storage and disposal of the CS

The treatment plan and possible alternatives treatment options
Risk of the CS exposure to a fetus of a childbearing age woman

If the CS is an opioid, the availability of an opioid antagonist; and

If the patient is an emancipated minor, the risks that the minor will abuse, misuse, or divert the CS and ways to
detect those issues

There are other requirements should you prescribe controlled substances after 30 days, 90 days and 365 days. The
information is available on the Board’s website by visiting www.dental.nv.gov and click on the heading “AB474-
Prescribing in Nevada.” The section has numerous sample forms to include, but limited to, informed consent, patient
risk assessment and resources available for your use and review.

The Nevada State Board of Pharmacy Task Force is monitoring for dentist who issue, fraudulent, illegal, unauthorized
or otherwise inappropriate prescription for a controlled substance listed as a schedule I, I, IV and will notify the
Board in writing. The Board will provide written notification to the licensee and may investigate the matter. Should
there be a preponderance of evidence of a violation, the Board shall impose disciplinary action to include but not be
limited to continuing education.

The Board suggests you take a few moments and visit our website at www.dental.nv.gov to peruse all the information
pertaining to AB474.

BOARD ACTIONS
APRIL 2017 - MAY 2018

In Memorvy O

Lloyd B Austin, DDS
Katayoun K Barin, DDS
Blaine R Dunn, DDS
Thomas H Gallagher, DDS

Mark Escoto, DDS Lic 2679
Stephen P Hahn, DDS Lic 4733

Lisa T Hoang, DDS Lic 6393 PDon C Gilbreth, DMD

James M Jones, DDS
A Raoul Leavitt, DDS
Bruce Pendleton, DDS

Joshua M Ignatowicz, DMD Lic 5539
Leslie M Kotler, DMD Lic 7009
Michelle Martinez-Pham, DDS Lic 5004
Michael D Wilson, DDS Lic 4288
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Senate Bill 101 now allows dentists in the state of Nevada to and myofascial pain syndrome;

inject Clostridium botulinum and dermal or (2) The use of neuromodulators that are
derived from Clostridium botulinum or that is
biosimilar to or the bioequivalent of such a

soft tissue fillers to a patient of record. A

dentist who has received the training for
Clostridium botulinum, dermal and/or soft

Botulinum Toxin

é ‘;c‘%{
1%
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neuromodulator for dental and facial esthet-
ics, and

(3) The use of dermal and/or soft tissue fill-
ers for dental and facial esthetics

tissue fillers shall present proof of such train-
ing upon request ofa patient or any state or

local governmental agency.
The Board has finalized the regulations for the
injection of Clostridium botulinum, dermal

LD,;: 0.001 ug/Kg
Molecular weight: 150,000 g/mol
Source: Bacterium
Clostridium botulinum

As part of licensure renewal, the Board will
require the dentist who wishes to inject Clos-
tridium botulinum, dermal and/or soft tissue
fillers to a patient of record provide a state-

and/or soft tissue fillers. The regulations

will require a dentist to successfully complete

a didactic and hands-on course of study ap-
proved by the Board in the injection of such neu-
romodulators and fillers that:

(a) Is at least 24 hours in length.

(b) Includes at least 4 hours of didactic instruc-
tion and at least 4 hours of hands-on InStruc- g ,
tion in the following areas; s Shsse.
(1) The use of neuromodulators that are S **Before attending a Clostridium botuli-

derived from Clostridium botulinum or that is biosim- num, dermal and/ or soft tissue filler certification
ilar to or the bioequivalent of such a neuromodulator ~ course, please contact the Board to verify if the
in the treatment of temporomandibular joint disease ~ course has been granted Board approval.

ment certifying that each neuromodulator has
been or will be injected by the holder and that
each dermal and/or soft tissue fillers has been or

will be injected by the holder. The regulation also

defines “patient of record.”

Single Use Means Single Use

As you may be aware, UNLV’s Faculty Practice Dental Clinic recently advised 184 patients that single-use healing abutments
may have been reused during their treatments. The notification assured the patients that any reuse had occurred following
sterilization of the abutments. There has been discussion in the news and on social media regarding whether this practice
poses any threat of transmission of disease or infection and/or a greater risk of implant failure. Despite what appears to be a
debate regarding the safety of the practice of sterilizing and reusing single use devices, including healing abutments, the
Board takes this opportunity to clarify its position regarding medical devices marketed, sold, labeled or manufactured as
“single use” devices. As explained below, reuse, even after sterilization, of single-use devices can result in discipline pursu-
ant to Nevada Revised Statutes (NRS) Chapter 631 and/or Nevada Administrative Code (NAC), Chapter 631.

NRS Chapter 631 and NAC Chapter 631 regulate the practice of dentistry in Nevada. The Board is charged with enforcing the
provisions contained therein. NAC 631.178 states as follows:

NAC 631.178 Adoption by reference of certain guidelines; compliance with guidelines re-
quired. (NRS 631.190)

1. chg person who is licensed pursuant to the provisions of chapter 631 of NRS shall comply
with:

a. The provisions of the Guidelines for Infection Control in Dental Health-Care Settings-2003
adopted by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention which is hereby adopted by
reference. The publication is available, free of charge, from the Centers for Disease Control
and Prevention at the Internet address http://www.cdc.gov/mmwr/preview/mmwrhtmi/
rr5217al.htm; and

As applicable to the practice of dentistry, the provisions of the Guideline for Disinfection and Sterilization ’
in Healthcare Facilities, 2008, adopted by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention which is hereby
adopted by reference. The publication is available, free of charge, from the Centers for Disease Control
and Prevention at the Internet address http://www.cdc.gov/ncidod/dhqgp/pdf/guidelines/

Disinfection_Nov_2008.pdf (Cont. on page 5)

FRGE 4 dental.nv.gov




(Continued from Page 4)

2. The Board will periodically review the guidelines adopted by reference in this section and
determine within 30 days after the review whether any change made to the guidelines is
appropriate for application in this State. If the Board does not disapprove a change to the

guidelines within 30 days after the review, the change is deemed to be approved by the
Board.

According to the CDC Guidelines for Infection Control in Dental Health-Care Settings, 2003, “The oral cavity is colonized with
numerous microorganisms. Oral surgical procedures present an opportunity for entry of microorganisms (i.e., exogenous and
endogenous) into the vascular system and other normally sterile areas of the oral cavity (e.g., bone or subcutaneous tissue);
therefore, an increased potential exists for localized or systemic infection. Oral surgical procedures involve the incision, exci-
sion, or reflection of tissue that exposes the normally sterile areas of the oral cavity. Examples include biopsy, periodontal
surgery, apical surgery, implant surgery, and surgical extractions of teeth (e.g., removal of erupted or nonerupted tooth re-
quiring elevation of mucoperiosteal flap, removal of bone or section of tooth, and suturing if needed) (see Hand Hygiene,
PPE, Single Use or Disposable Devices, and Dental Unit Water Quality).”

The CDC also notes that, according to the Food and Drug Administration a single-use device, also referred to as a disposable
device, is intended for use on one patient during a single procedure. It is not intended to be reprocessed (i.e., cleaned and
disinfected or sterilized) and used on trays. The labeling may not identify the device as single-use or disposable. If a device
does not have reprocessing instructions, regardless of labeling, it should be considered single-use and disposed of appropri-
ately (i.e., according to federal, state, and local regulations) after one use. (See, https://www.cdc.gov/oralhealth/
infectioncontrol/questions/single-use-devices.html)

Based on the foregoing, it is the Board’s position that “single use” means that the medical device is intended to be used on an
individual patient during a single procedure and then discarded. It is not intended to be reprocessed and used on another
patient. Therefore, regardless of any individual practitioner’s belief as to the efficacy of sterilization of single use devices, in-
cluding healing abutments, the Board treats any reuse of single use devices as unprofessional conduct, in violation of NRS
631.3475(4) (substandard care); NAC 631.178 (violation of CDC guidelines) and/or NAC 631.230(c) (departure from prevail-
ing standards of care). Violations of these statutes and regulations by the reuse of single use devices, even if only reused after |
sterilization, may result in discipline.

WELCOME

NEWLY APPOINTED MEMBERS & STAFF
Betty L Pate, RDH (2
Yvonne L Bethea, RDH 0”
Nikki Harris, Public Member
Melanie B Chapman, Esq

Patricia Quinn, Legal Assistant

Theresa Guillen, RDH

The Board welcomes the newly appointed Board members, ' The Board thanks you fOI‘ your

counsel & staff and looks forward to working together to
ensure that qualified professionals are licensed to practice

dedication and service to your
dentistry and dental hygiene and further ensure that those | prOfeSSIOII and to the citizens Of
who violate the laws regulating the dental and dental hy- ‘ the State of Nevada.

giene professions are sanctioned appropriately.
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- The Nevada State Board of Dental Examiners has a new pathway for licensure for both dentists and dental
hygienists. Effective June 9, 2017, Senate Bill 69 (SB69) was enacted by the Legislature. This method of licen-
sure is for certain professions and is codified under Chapter 622 of the Nevada Revised Statute.

Through the rulemaking process the Board amended NAC 631.030 to adopt permanent regulations to out-
line the documentation and information required for licensure by endorsement in addition fo the required
statutes.

~ This method of licensure shall grant an applicant who meets the eligibility requirements set forth in NRS
631.230 or NRS 631.290, NRS 622 (SB49) and the regulations adopted by the Board to a person seeking a den-
tal or dental hygiene license in the state of Nevada.

- For more information regarding this method of licensure you may visit the Board's website at
- www.dental.nv.gov under the heading "Apply for a License.”

S g ; 2017 Dental Professional Workforce Survey
W
n
This announcement is a follow up to a letter you should have received from Dr. Raven,
Acting Chief Medical Officer, requesting for your participation in the Nevada 2017 Dental
Workforce Survey.

If you have already completed this survey, please consider this a “thank you” for your
promptness.

If the questionnaire link has been set aside to finish later, please follow the link below
and complete the survey as soon as possible. We realize this is a busy time of year and ap-
preciate your assistance in answering this survey.

Survey for Dentists:

www.surveymonkey.com/r/dentists=2017

Survey for Dental Hygienists:

www.surveymonkey.com/r/dentalhygienists=-2017

Please contact Dr. Capurro with questions at acapurro@health.nv.gov
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Identity Theft

Self-Storage units generally do not have the high level security needed to protect patient’s confidential records from
unauthorized individuals. Self storage units are generally connected together and only utilize a pad lock to prevent un-
authorized persons from gaining entry into the unit and having access to patient files that maintain patient’s confidential
and personal information that is used for fraud, identity theft and other criminal activity. Self storage units are targeted
by burglars. Historically, the walls do not go all the way up the ceiling leaving the unit vulnerable. The neighbor next
door may be storing hazardous materials or could be a criminal hoping to steal items stored in your unit.

Risk of Elements

Storage units do not typically have the safety measures in place to protect the contents from fire, floods or natural dis-
asters. Additionally, if the storage unit is in a moisture prone environment patient records may be damaged due to mold
and mildew from poor insulation. Storage units that have a fire suppression system leave the patients records exposed
to water or chemical damage.

Surveillance

Most storage units have cameras that are in place to monitor the premises, not individual storage units. Criminals tend
to target storage units precisely for this reason, randomly breaking into units to see the contents. Most storage unit com-
panies have a clause in their contracts acknowledging they are not liable for stolen or missing items.

HIPPA

The federal government has published its final regulations (Final Rule) implementing Health Information Technology for
Economic and Clinical Health (HITECH) Act. The new rules expand the obligations of health care providers to protect
patients’ protected health information (PHI), extend these obligations to a host of other companies who, as “business
associates,” have access to PHI, and increase the penalties for violations of any of these obligations. The Final Rule
was published January 25, 2013 and became effective March 26, 2013. The compliance date is six months from the ef-
fective date: September 23, 2013.

The Final Rule significantly modifies the definition of a business associate. Previously, BA’s were limited to entities that
“use or disclose” PHI in order to provide a service on behalf of a covered entity. Now, the definition includes any organi-
zation that “creates, receives, maintains, or transmits PHI for a function regulated by HIPAA”. Entities that, under the
expanded definition, are considered business associates include all medical records storage companies. A medical rec-
ords storage company that has access to PHI (electronic or hardcopy) is a business associate even if the entity does not
view the information or does so on a random or infrequent basis. Therefore, if you are housing your patient records with
a storage entity, you should have in place a “Business Associate Agreement” to ensure HIPPA compliance. Violations of
the Final Rule may result in Civil Monetary Penalties.

When housing your patient records you want to select a company like Assured Document Management that carries
professional liability coverage that exceeds the standards for the industry and offers “Business Associate Agreements”.
Self Storage facilities do not offer “Business Associate Agreements” nor do they have professional liability coverage.
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