Nevada State Board of Dental Examiners



6010 S. Rainbow Blvd., Bldg. A, Ste.1 • Las Vegas, NV 89118 • (702) 486-7044 • (800) DDS-EXAM • Fax (702) 486-7046

Provider Resource for Prescription Pain Relievers (Opioids & other Controlled Substances)

The State of Nevada is facing an opioid abuse epidemic by patients. The Legislature and regulatory agencies have taken measures to ensure the practitioners prescribing the controlled substances are taken the necessary measures to ensure patient safety.

The Nevada State Board of Dental Examiners provides this information as a resource for dental providers who may prescribe opioids or other controlled substances. Opioids should be used for treating chronic pain according to the U.S. Food and Drug Administration.

As a dental provider, when you renew your dental license you are required to access and attest that you have at a minimum performed one self-query to the Prescription Monitoring Program

Pursuant to NAC 631.045,

You shall at least every six months access the database of the Prescription Monitoring Program through the State Board of Pharmacy.

The statute requires each practitioner who is authorized to write prescriptions for controlled substances listed in schedule II, III, or IV shall access the database of the Prescription Monitoring Program through the Nevada State Board of Pharmacy, to the extent the program allows, access the database of the program established pursuant to subsection 1 at least once each 6 months to review the information concerning the practitioner that is listed in the database and notify the Board if any such information is not correct; and verify to the Board that he or she continues to have access to and has accessed the database as required by this subsection.

This statute requires mandatory access and use of the Prescription Monitoring Program by practitioners who have prescription privileges through the Nevada State Board of Pharmacy. NRS 639.2350(7)(1) states that practitioners are now obligated to obtain a PMP report before "initiating" a controlled substance prescription in most cases. The obligation arises where.

- 1. The prescription for a controlled substance listed in schedule II, III, and IV, and
- 2. The patient is a new patient of the practitioner, or
- 3. The prescription is for more than 7 days and of part of a new course of treatment for the patient

The practitioner is obligated to **review** the report and although the statute does not require the practitioner maintain a copy of the report it is suggested that you note in the patient file the date the report was run and reviewed with signature. The statue further provides penalties to be imposed against practitioners who do not comply with the new law.

The Board encourages dental providers through your continuing education requirements for licensure renewal to dedicate at least one (1) hour annually to the abuse and misuse of controlled substances by patients and educate yourself in recognizing the signs of opioid and other controlled substance abuse.

If after conducting queries from the PMP and upon review should you note errors, please contact the Nevada State Board of Pharmacy.